Do you want to know everything about Nigerian universities’ grading system? Grading system is what an educational body uses to standardize measurements for varying levels of achievements in a course. In Nigeria, a body that standardizes grading system is National Universities Commission (NUC).

Here are the discussions of Nigerian educational system grading scale for universities, concerns of NUC about universities’ grading system this 2022, First Class, Second Class Honours (Upper Division), Second Class Honours (Lower Division), Third Class Honours and more’s grades in Nigerian universities.

What is Nigerian universities’ grading scale

 This 2022, every Nigerian university uses 4 grade points; A, B, C, and D for 4, 3, 2, and 1, respectively, Hence, this means that A (70 and above) 4 point; B (60-69%) 3; C (50-59%) 2; D (45-49%) 1; and E (40-44%) 0.

However, to calculate your CGPA on a 4.0 grade scale system now, please follow the following procedures.

CGPA range for all classes in Nigeria:

  • 3.5- 4.00 – first class honours,
  • 3.0-3.49 – second class honours (upper division),
  • 2.0-2.99 – second class honours (lower division),
  • 1.0-1.99 – third class honours.

Read this also: top best professional courses in Nigerian university.

Now, let’s look at the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Nigerian university grading system maybe you will obtain indebt experiences from this post.

FAQs about Nigerian university’ grading system

What is the example of 5-point grading scale

The examples of 5-point grading scale in Nigerian university are 5, 4, 3, 2, 0 for letter grades of A, B, C, D, and F respectively.

What is a 97 GPA on a 5.0 scale?

A. During the time when Nigerian universities were using 5-point grading system, if you get a GPA of 4.5 and above, that means you have automatically scored Distinction (A). Hence, 97 GPA is A, Distinction/First Class on a 5.0 scale.

How is CGPA calculated in Nigeria?

To calculate your CGPA on a 4-point grading system which every Nigerian university is currently adopting, 3.5- 4.00 is referred to as: first class honours, 3.0-3.49: second class honours (upper division), 2.0-2.99: second class honours (lower division) and 1.0-1.99: third class honours.

If I have 2.2 out of 4 points in Nigerian university is it a good degree?

2.2 GPA is classified as second class honours (lower division) in Nigeria. Hence, if you score 2.2, that is still a good result.

What’s a 1.1 degree?

Third class honours. In Nigerian university’s grading system, the students that score 1.0 to 1.99 points are classified as third class honours. This degree is the lowest honours degree that you can achieve in the university.

What is a good GPA in Nigeria?

The good GPA in Nigeria is A which is 3.5 point and above on a scale of 4-point grading system. If you are a student, strive to score 3 or 3.5, second class honours (upper division) or first class, respectively.

Can a 3rd class graduate do masters?

The third-class graduates can do a master’s program if they meet admission requirements such as possessing good skills, work experience, etc.

What is the minimum CGPA requirement for doing Masters in Nigeria?

3 point on a 5 point grading system. To do Maters Degree in a recognized Nigerian university, you must get an average grade point average (CGPA) of not less than 3.0 on a 5.0 maximum CGPA (or Second Class Lower Division).

How do you calculate CGPA on a 5.0 scale?

5.0 scale CGPA Grading system in Nigeria: 70 – 100 (A) | 5.00, 60 – 69 (B) | 4.00 , 50 – 59 (C) | 3.00, 45 – 49 (D) | 2.00, 25-44 (E) | 1.

What is a 4.0 GPA on a 5.0 scale?

On a scale of 5 grading system, if you score 4 point, you are not a first class student yet. In fact, 4.49 is still not a first class but a second class honours (upper division). For you to become a first class student in a university where 5 point scale system is applied, you must score 4.5.

What CGPA is first class in Nigeria?

3.5 to 4 or 4.5 to 5 where 4-point grading system is used or 4-point grading system is used, respectively.

What is the current NUC grading system in 2022

The Executive Secretary of NUC noted that while some universities used the 6 grade points of 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 0 for letter grades of A, B, C, D, E, and F respectively, other disciplines, he said, removed the E grade altogether thereby having a grading system with grade points of 5, 4, 3, 2, 0 for letter grades of A, B, C, D, and F respectively. He added that these methods had incontrovertibly introduced two systems of grading within the NUS that had some technical implications on the grading of students.


The CGPA stands for Cumulative Grade Point Average. It is an assessment method used to evaluate students’ academic performance. For example, in the Bachelor of Engineering programs, CGPA is calculated to determine a student’s current standing overall (this includes all courses counting towards the degree) and if applicable, in a minor.

GPA on the other hand is also an acronym. It simply stands for Grade Point Average. It is used by high schools, colleges, and graduate schools alike, a grade point average (GPA) is a single cumulative number that represents your entire academic performance. Schools calculate GPA by translating letter grades onto a numerical scale that typically ranges from 0.0-4.0.

I hope this article has helped you know the 5-point grading system in Nigerian universities? If yes, then please share it with your friends and remember to comment with any question you may have to ask via the comment section.

Abdulrazaq Yahaya

Hi. Welcome to Fastknowers. On this blog, I share articles on how to develop your personal and career life. If you did like this article, please share it with others.

Leave a Reply