Close this search box.
Close this search box.

List of former JAMB registrars and their brief history

List of former JAMB registrars and their brief history

JAMB is headed by a Chairman also known as registrar. The current registrar of JAMB is Prof Oleyede who was appointed in 2016. If you are interested to know the list of former JAMB registrars and their brief history, then continue reading as you are in the right place.

In this article, I am going to discuss with you the list of all former JAMB registrars since decades till date. JAMB is an acronym that stands for Joint Admission and Matriculation Board. It’s an entrance exam established in 1978 by federal government of Nigeria to select the students who apply for admission into any tertiary instruction in the country. It is conducted yearly. The maximum point required for all candidates that take part in it is 400. Although candidates who have not scored up to that point may still gain admission.

Registrar of JAMB is the person who acts as a CEO or managing director. It is only JAMB registrar has an authority to implement laws and orders to the board and make sure they must be implemented. Now, here is the list and explanation of the name of former JAMB registrars.

Former JAMB registrars and their brief history

  • Mr. Michael Saidu Angulu | Year in office: 1978 to 1986.
  • Professor Lawrence Adedibu Ojerinde | Year in office: 1987 to unknown.
  • Professor Ishaq Oloyede | Year in office: August, 2016 till present.

1. Mr. Michael Saidu Angulu | Year in office: 1978 to 1986

JAMB was introduced by Mr. Michael Saidu Angulu, he is the JAMB’s First Registrar in other to create a system where undergraduates will be tested properly before offered admission into institutions in Nigeria.

He died on 19 FEBRUARY 2008 in Lagos after a brief illness.

2. Professor Lawrence Adedibu Ojerinde | Year in office: 2007-2012

Lawrence Adedibu Ojerinde is a professor of  Tests and Measurement appointed as Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, JAMB, a position he held for 5 years (2007-2012) and was reappointed on 10 April 2012.

He was born in Igboho, Oyo State, Nigeria. He attended Wesley College, Ibadan where he received the Teacher Grade II Certificate Examinations (TC II) in 1964. He later attended Adeyemi College of Education where he obtained the Nigeria Certificate in Education (N.C. E) in 1968.

3. Professor Ishaq Oloyede | Year in office: August, 2016 till present

Is-haq Olanrewaju Oloyede is the current registrar of JAMB and a Professor of Islamics and a Fellow of the Islamic Academy of Cambridge, United Kingdom; Fellow, Academy of Entrepreneurship; Fellow, Nigerian Institute of Management; Fellow, Institute of Arabic and Islamic Studies and Fellow, Association of Islamic Religious Studies and a Fellow, Nigerian Academic of Letters. He won the Arab League Prize for Best Final Year Certificate Student in Islamic Studies from the University of Ibadan in 1977.

He has served on the board of many reputable university and academic organisations. He was the Chairman, Committee of Directors of Academic Planning in Nigerian Universities, 2002 to 2004; he was the President, Association of African Universities (AAU), 2009 to 2011 when he voluntarily resigned to pave way for the resumption of a Nigerian, Professor Jegede as the Secretary-General of the Association.

Prof Oleyede has served on the Board of Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), 2010 to 2012 and International Association of Universities (IAU), 2008 to 2012. He is an International Advisory Board member of International Network for Higher Education in Africa (INHEA). He was also a Board member of Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC).


If you know that this article has helped you know the name of former JAMB registrars, then please share it with your friends and remember to subscribe to our newsletter for more important updates.

Read these also:

Share the Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our email list to stay updated. We hate spam, hence, we won't share your email address with others.