Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Six Geo-Political Zones In Nigeria And States And Cultures

Six geo-political zones in Nigeria on the map

In this article, you will know everything about 6 (six) geo-political zones in Nigeria and the states in each every of them, languages and cultures.

Due to the large population of Nigeria, the former Head of State, Late General Sani Abacha supported the classification of thirty-six (36) states and capital (FCT), ethnic groups and languages into geo-political zone.

Nigeria is a populated country, therefore, it’s consists of four hundred (400) ethnic groups and four hundred and fifty plus (450+) languages and cultures.

That is, ethnic group and language with common history, heritage and culture were classified under the same geo-political zone.

Nigeria is classified into Federal, State, Local government level and wards. For example, Muhammad Buhari is the president of the federal republic of Nigeria, Alhaji Yahaya Bello is the executive governor of Kogi state, while honourable Amodu Ibrahim is the chairman of Ofu Local government in Kogi state and honourable Nasiru Yahaya is the councilor of Ochadamu ward one in Ofu LGA in Kogi state.

Without the help of Nigeria being classified into six geo political zones, all of us may be fighting against each other. That is to say, geo political zones lessen indiscrimination in our country.

Read this also: state and capital in federal republic of Canada (you should know this).

Now, continue reading this article to know all six geo political zones in Nigeria and everything about them in an understanding way.

Table of Contents

  1. Six geo-political Zones in Nigeria and states and cultures in each of them
  2. Languages and cultures found in: North East, North West and North Central
  3. Cultures and languages in South South, South East and South West.

Now, there are six geo-political zones in Nigeria. In this article today, we will show you everything you need to know about six geopolitical zones in Nigeria.

Nevertheless, at the end of this article, you will know:

  • Six geopolitical zones in Nigeria
  • The states in each of the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and
  • The languages which can be found in each of the six geopolitical zones in.

One geopolitical zone in Nigeria comprises seven states maximimum and five states minimum.

Six Geo-Political Zones In Nigeria: States Culture And Languages In Each Of Them

See this also: list of thirty-six (36) states and their capital in Nigeria.

The six (6) geo-political zones in Nigeria are:

S/N Geo-Political Zones’ Names
1 North West
2 South West
3 North East
4 South East
5 North Central
6 South South

Below are the state which can be found in each Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria and also the culture and languages that they comprise.

As Fastknowers is concerned, therefore, you should be informed that MTN foundation scholarship is currently ongoing, please click here to verify more.

Cultures, States And Languages Found In North Zone Of Nigeria

1. North East

The North Eastern part of Nigeria comprises of the following tribes: Fulfude, Fulani, Babur, Kanuri e.t.c.

And below are the States in North East of Nigeria:

  1. Adamawa
  2. Bauchi
  3. Borno
  4. Gombe
  5. Taraba and
  6. Yobe.

2. North West

The North western part of Nigeria is dominated by the following tribes: Baju, Fulani, Hausa, Jabu et.c.

The state found in the North West of Nigeria are:

  1. Jigawa
  2. Kaduna
  3. Kano
  4. Katsina
  5. Kebbi
  6. Sokoto and
  7. Zamfara.

3. North Central

The notable languages which may be found in North Central part of Nigeria are: Birom, Igala, Nupe, Ebira Tiv, Yoruba, Idoma e.t.c.

The states located in North Central of Nigeria are:

  1. Benue
  2. Kogi
  3. Kwara
  4. Nasarawa
  5. Niger
  6. Plateau and
  7. Federal capital territory (fct).

Note: North Central is also called middle belt part of the country. It should not be known people who live in middle belt sell or produce waist belt a lot but should be known that they are the people who live in the middle region of a thing, e.g, country.

Read this also: where to register JAMB (approved CBT centres) in every 36 state in Nigeria in 2021.

Languages And Cultures Found In South Geo-Political Zone

4. South South

South South is another 6 Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria and the number of the list in this article. South southern part of Nigeria is mostly and predominantly lived by the following languages: Efik, Ibibio, Ijaw, Itsekiri e.t.c.

And following are the States which is found in South south Nigeria:

  1. Akwa Ibom
  2. Cross River
  3. Bayelsa
  4. Rivers
  5. Delta and
  6. Edo.

5. South East

The South Eastern part of Nigeria is denominated or lived by only Igbos which comprises five states.

States found or located in South Eastern part of Nigeria are listed below:

  1. Abia
  2. Anambra
  3. Ebonyi
  4. Enugu and
  5. Imo

6. South West

South West is another Geo-Political Zones which is wholly dominated by Yoruba.The states that can be found in South West of Nigeria are:

  1. Ekiti
  2. Lagos
  3. Ogun
  4. Ondo
  5. Osun and
  6. Oyo

As earlier noted, South West region of Nigeria is for Yoruba, that is, Yoruba land.

Conclusion and further reading:

If you know that this article has helped you, then remember to like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter handle for more.

Share this article with your friends and loved ones to support us to do this service for free of charge, please.

See this also: Nigerian national anthem and pledge (an acceptable way to sing them with audio format).

Share the Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our email list to stay updated. We hate spam, hence, we won't share your email address with others.