List of all federal university of technology in Nigeria and their location

Federal universities of technology are the universities that we recommend engineers to study in. Looking for the list of all existing federal university of technology in Nigeria as of 2022 and their location?

Please continue reading this article to find out the list and explanation such as location, available courses and departments offered, school fees, requirements, etc of all federal university of technology’s universities across every thirty six state in Nigeria.

Read this also: affiliated universities of FCE Zaria in 2022 and how to gain their admission.

List of all approved Federal University of Technology in Nigeria

Presently, Nigeria houses five (5) different federal university of technology which are listed and discussed below:

1. Federal University of Technology Akure

Federal University of Technology, Akure (also known as FUTA) is a top ranking University of technology in Nigeria and indeed the nation’s pride.

FUTA was established in 1981, since then, it has grown tremendously, stretching its academic disciplines and research across eight different schools and over fifty academic departments.

2. Federal University of Technology Owerri

The Federal University of Technology Owerri (commonly abbreviated as FUTO). It is a federal government university dedecatedly meant for technology or engineering studies. It is located in Owerri West, the capital of Imo State, Nigeria.

Founded in 1980, it is the oldest university of technology in Nigeria.

FUTO has been for many years a partnering university to JUPEB) and IJMB. This means that you can gain 200 direct entry admission into it using IJMB result.

Below are the eleven different faculties presently on offer at the Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO):

  1. School of Engineering and Engineering Technology (SEET)
  2. School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (SAAT)
  3. School of Electrical Systems and Engineering Technology (SESET)
  4. School of Physical Sciences (SOPS)
  5. School of Biological Sciences (SOBS)
  6. School of Logistics and Innovation Technology (SLIT)
  7. School of Health Technoloy (SOHT)
  8. School of Environmental Sciences (SOES)
  9. School of Basic Medical Sciences (SBMS)
  10. School of Information and Communication Technology (SICT)
  11. College of Medicine and Health Sciences (CMHS)

Read this also: list of all Vice Chancellors of Nigerian universities (past and present).

3. Federal University of Technology Minna

Federal University of Technology Minna, fondly abbreviated as FUTMINNA, is a Federal Government owned University of technology located in Minna, Niger state, Nigeria.

As its name implies, it specializes in technological education, i.e, it is a university designated for entre of excellence in Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering.

It was founded in 1983 and for now, it is affiliated with Federal College of Education (Technical) Akoka, Lagos State, Nigeria and Federal Polytechnic Offa, Kwara State, Nigeria.

Schools or faculties offered in Federal University of Technology Minna are:

  • School of Agriculture and Agriculture Technology.
  • School of Electrical Engineering and Technology.
  • School of Infrastructure, Process Engineering and Technology.
  • School of Innovative Technology (formerly, School of Entreprenuership and Management Technology).
  • School of Environmental Technology.
  • School of Life Sciences.
  • School of Physical Sciences.
  • School of Information and Communication Technology.
  • School of Science and Technology Education.
  • School of Post Graduate Studies

The school fee of Federal University of Technology Minna ranges from N60, 000 to N65, 000 a of 2022.

Read this also: Covenant university notable alumni (newly updated).

4. Federal University of Technology Yola

The Modibbo Adama University of Technology, MAUTECH, Yola, formerly known as Federal University of Technology Yola. It is a research university located in Girei, a town in Adamawa State, Nigeria.

The name of this university was on 2011-08-05 changed from Federal University of Technology Yola to Modibbo Adama University of Technology, MAUTECH, Yola by former executive president of Nigeria, Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.

It is one four federal technology universities established and founded in 1981 with the sole purpose of advancing science-based research.

It is the cheapest federal university of technology’s university which its school fee ranges from N40, 000 to N70, 000 depending on the course of study. Its current Vice Chancellor (VC) is Abdullahi Liman Tukur.

As an intending engineering student, please note that Modibbo Adama Federal University of Technology Yola offers its students with an associate’s, bachelor’s, PGD, master’s, and PhD degrees.

See this also: University of Ibadan Postgraduate Courses in 2022.

5. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (popularly known or shortened as ATBU) is a federal university of technology located in Bauchi, Bauchi state Nigeria.

ATBU is named after Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa who was the first Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

This federal university of technology, ATBU is very recommended for an engineers to attend.

Below are some of the engineering or technology courses offered at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi (ATBU):

S/NDepartment’s Name
1Department of Agriculture and Bio-Resource Engineering
2Department of Automobile Engineering
3Department of Chemical Engineering
4Department of Civil Engineering
5Department of Computer and Communication Engineering
6Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering
7Department of Mechanical/Production Engineering
8Department of Mechatronics and Systems Engineering
9Department of Petroleum Engineering

ATBU as one of the existing federal university of technology’s universities, it offers degrees through seven schools which are:

  • School of Engineering
  • Science
  • Environmental Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Management Technology
  • The School of Technology Education and
  • College of Medical Sciences


If you know that this article has helped you know the list of all federal university of technology universities across all thirty six states in Nigeria as of 2022, please share it with your friends and remember to subscribe to our newsletter for more important updates.

Read this also: list of all Nigerian private Polytechnics in 2022.

Abdulrazaq Yahaya

Hi. Welcome to Fastknowers. On this blog, I share articles on how to develop your personal and career life. If you did like this article, please share it with others.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Saminu Babangida

    Thanks for your help

Leave a Reply