Canada provinces and capitals with their abbreviations

Canada as one of the top biggest countries in the world, it has thirteen states, ten for provinces and three for territories. Today’s article will show with you all Canada provinces and their capitals with their respective abbreviation.

Canada is a country in North America. Its ten provinces and three territories extend from the Atlantic to the Pacific and northward into the Arctic Ocean, covering 9.98 million square kilometres (3.85 million square miles), making it the world’s second-largest country by total area.

The southern and western of Canada border with the United States, stretching 8,891 kilometres (5,525 mi). The capital city of Canada is Ottawa and its three largest metropolitan areas are Toronto, Montreal, and Vancouver.

Being the federation that composed ten provinces and three territories, Canada was then grouped into four main regions: Western Canada, Central Canada, Atlantic Canada, and Northern Canada (Eastern Canada refers to Central Canada and Atlantic Canada together).

Now, let’s start discussing our main topic of discussion!!

Read this also: list of all 50 states in USA and their ZIP codes.

List of all provinces in Canada and their capital

The name of all Canada provinces and their capital with their abbreviation are shown in the table below:

ProvinceProvince abbreviationCapital
QuebecQCQuebec City
British ColumbiaBCVictoria
Nova ScotiaNSHalifax
New BrunswickNBFredericton
Newfoundland and LabradorNLSt. John’s
Prince Edward IslandPECharlottetown
Northwest TerritoriesNTYellowknife
Yukon (Territories)YTWhitehorse
Nunavut (Territories) NU Iqaluit

Read these also:

Top best cities in Canada and their province name

Province nameCity name
Alberta (AB)Calgary
British Columbia (BC)Vancouver
Prince Edward Island (PE)Charlottetown
Manitoba (MB)Winnipeg
New Brunswick (NB)Saint John
Nova Scotia (NS)Halifax
Ontario (ON)Toronto
Quebec (QC)Montréal
Saskatchewan (SK)Saskatoon
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL)St. John’s

3 territories of Canada and their capital

Canada comprises three different territories and capital. Each territory speaks different languages. The three (3) territories in Canada and their capital are discussed in the table below.

Territory nameCapital
Nunavut (NU)Iqaluit
Yukon (YT)Whitehorse
Northwest Territories (NT)Yellowknife

Nunavut (NU)

Nunavut (NU) is one of the three territories and cities in Canada headquartered at Iqaluit. The commonest languages spoken in this territories are Inuinnaqtun, Inuktitut, English and French.

Yukon (YT)

This is another territories of Canada and one of the cities and provinces. Its headquartered is located at Whitehorse while the major languages which the people who stay in it speak are English and French language.

Northwest Territories (NT)

Last but not the least, Northwest Territories (NT) is the third territories in Canada headquartered in Yellowknife. The major languages spoken in Northwest Territories (NT) are: English, French, Chipewyan, Cri, Flanc-de-chien, Gwich’in, Inuinnaqtun, Inuktitut, Inuvialuktun, North Slavey, South Slavey.


If you know that this article has helped you know Canada provinces and their capitals, then please share it with your friends and remember to subscribe to our newsletter for more important updates.

Read these also:

Abdulrazaq Yahaya

Hi. Welcome to Fastknowers. On this blog, I share articles on how to develop your personal and career life. If you did like this article, please share it with others.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. 홀덤펍

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort
    of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i am happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I so much without a doubt will make sure to do not omit this web site and provides it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply